Elusive Fox

We had a fox visit our neighborhood last week. Mike shared some grilled chicken with him one night and we thought he might be sleeping beneath our deck. But then he disappeared, even though we left a whole egg for him under the squash leaves.

Last month, John wrote to me and said he still came to my blog sometimes, just to check for any sign of life, but he was losing hope.

It’s probably dangerous to lose hope.

Wendell Berry says, “Be like the fox / who makes more tracks than necessary, / some in the wrong direction. / Practice resurrection.”

Practice…

Can it really be two years since I’ve posted here?

It must be. I couldn’t remember my password to even get into the dashboard.

This morning I read Philippians 3:10-11 ~ “I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection …, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection of the dead…”

Somehow…

Last night, then, I saw the fox again, weaving through the decorative grasses in a yard down the street. Maybe tonight. Maybe he’ll be back.

2 thoughts on “Elusive Fox

  1. Oh, dear, sweet nectar of the gods – she’s back! Praise the Almighty and leap for joy (carefully, so as not to spill coffee into the keyboard). My heart is warm, and happy – it’s wappy!

What do you say?

